Skip to main content
Students working on a project

About Us

department of civil and mechanical engineering

We’re in the business of building successful futures.

The Department of Civil and Mechanical Engineering prepares students to be the best engineers they can be. Our graduates are innovators, builders, and problem solvers working to make the world a better place.

Student and professor in a lab
Accent texture


Where the latest technology and curious minds meet.


The Department of Civil and Mechanical Engineering is brimming with opportunities. Take advantage to create the future you want.

Industrial Advisory Board

Working together to enhance our industry.

The following are the members of our industrial advisory board. The board plays a key role in guiding the direction of our engineering programs and helping us ensure that we are meeting the needs of our constituents in industry. We are indebted to them and their employers for contributing their time and talent to our programs.

  • Ben Adams, Commonwealth Engineers Inc.
  • Shan Gunawardena, City of Fort Wayne
  • Kurt Heidenreich, Engineering Resources Inc.
  • Dana Plattner, INDOT (Fort Wayne District)
  • Holly Schaubert, Nucor Building Systems
  • Aamir Turk, INDOT (Indianapolis District)
  • Kurt Voigt, New Millennium Building Systems
  • Matthew Wirtz, City Utilities Engineering

  • Paul Bigby, General Motors
  • David Leckman, Tuthill Transfer Systems
  • Carl Huber, Water Furnace International
  • Alex Vasko, Nidec Drive Systems
  • Derek Rode, Ultra Maritime
  • Tim Rorick, Ultra Electronics (Undersea Sensor Systems Inc.)
  • Matt Williams, PHD Inc.
  • Susan Zogbi, Zimmer Biomet


Be confident that our programs meet the highest standards.

The programs offered through the Department of Civil and Mechanical Engineering are all accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET).  


Contact us

Have questions?


Contact the Department of Civil and Mechanical Engineering at [email protected].