

Faculty Senate

Senate Document SD 24-19 Expired

MEMORANDUM

TO Fort Wayne Senate

FROM: Cigdem Gurgur, Chair

Senate Executive Committee

DATE: 02/25/2025

SUBJ: Amendments to the Grade Appeals Policy SD 82-2

WHEREAS, the current Grade Appeals Policy specified in SD 82-2 requires that the Grade Appeals Subcommittee shall consist of Voting Faculty; and

WHEREAS, recent revisions of the Bylaws have increasingly included lecturers as eligible to serve on Senate and its (sub-)committees; and

WHEREAS, it has indeed been recent practice to allow lecturers to serve on the Grade Appeals Subcommittee;

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Fort Wayne Senate approves of the proposed amendment that substitutes "Voting Faculty" with "Teaching Faculty," the latter being defined as "Voting Faculty or lecturers," as shown in the color-coded text below.

"Grade Appeals Subcommittee

This subcommittee shall consist of nine members elected from among the Voting Teaching Faculty according to procedures specified in the *Bylaws of the Senate*." (SD 82-2aa, p. 1)

Approved Kristen Barker Bernd Buldt Cigdem Gurgur Jay Johns James McHann Jeff Nowak Lee Roberts	Opposed	Abstention	Absent	Non-Voting Craig Ortsey
Lee Roberts				