

Senate Document SD 09-10 Approved, 3/15/2010

THE SENATE 260-481-4160 • FAX: 260-481-6880

FROM:

IPFW Senate

TO:

President Córdova, Vice President of Finance Diaz, Purdue Calumet Senate (via Sam

Liles, Chair), Purdue North Central Senate (via Jason Curtis, Chair), Howie Zelaznik,

Chair, Purdue University Senate, Joe Camp, Secretary of the Faculties.

SUBJECT:

IPFW Regional Faculty Representation Resolution

DATE:

March 15, 2010

Whereas:

- Having a seat on the Purdue University Senate is inadequate in the area of budget planning that impacts regional faculty.
- The Intercampus Faculty Council (IFC) does not provide a timely or appropriate arena of exchange of views that would be heard at any administrative or planning level.
- The Chair of the Purdue University Senate does not represent the regional faculty viewpoints with upper administration and key committees.
- 4. Regional campus faculty do not have proportional representation in any respect at Purdue University.
- Regional campuses face the issue of rising enrollments and the challenges that come with this (1,337 new student increase in the fall of 2009 at IPFW).
- Regional campuses also have the situation of lower salaries when compared to W.L. campus due to the level and type of institutions.
- The regional campus faculty teach over 40% of the undergraduates in the Purdue system.
- 8. The Liles memo is a fair and accurate statement of the current predicament of regional faculty.
- Having a seat in the main planning discussion body, or bodies, is needed for direct input by the faculty of IPFW.

Therefore be it resolved:

The IPFW Senate requests an immediate voting seat on the Sustaining New Synergies Steering Committee.

Steering Committee

- Co-Chair: Al Diaz, Treasurer
- Co-Chair: Randy Woodson, Provost
- Cherry Delaney, APSAC
- Nicholas Howell, APSAC
- Matthew Marks, CSSAC
 Deborah Luedtke, CSSAC
- Howard Zelaznik, Univ. Senate
- Adam Kline, PSG
- Preston Holb, PSG

- Richard Sévère, GSG
- James Almond, Office of the Treasurer
- Ken Sandel, Office of the Treasurer
- Jay Akridge, Coll. of Agriculture
- Dan Hirleman, School of Mech. Engin.
- Rebecca Doerge, Dept. of Statistics
- Rab Mukerjea, Strategic Planning and Assessment