Office of Sponsored Programs

16th Annual Student Research and Creative Endeavor Symposium

The April 12, 2013 Symposium with 54 student presenters was a resounding success and an excellent opportunity for students to present posters on research and creative endeavor to an audience of faculty and student peers. Nineteen departments were represented with 39 faculty mentors; see the 2013 departmental participation statistics.

"The Symposium was very close to those of professional organizations, and a great opportunity to share my research."

"The IPFW Poster Symposium was a great opportunity for me. I was able to showcase my own hard work while also seeing what other students just like me were doing in many different disciplines. The amount of creative thinking and dedication that I saw was inspiring."

See more participant comments.

Abstracts and posters of all participants are available in Opus, the IPFW open-access digital repository of scholarly works.

Congratulations to prize winners for 2013:

Symposium first prize winner

First Prize: Irene Gichungeh
Department of Public Policy
Faculty sponsor: Dr. Ae-Sook Kim
Do nonprofit nursing homes perform better than for-profit nursing homes? Empirical evidence in Indiana

Sympsosium second prize winner

Second Prize: Jessica Schein
Department of Biology
Faculty Sponsor: Dr. George Mourad
The nucleobase cation symporter 1 of Chlamydomonas reinhardtii and that of the evolutionarily distant Arabidopsis thaliana display parallel function and establish a plant-specific solute transport profile

Symposium third prize winner

Third Prize: Elizabeth Tobin
Department of Psychology
Faculty Sponsor: Dr. Michelle Drouin
Sexting: a new route to sexual coercion?

People’s Choice Award: Nicholas Lawrence
Department of Marketing/Management
Faculty sponsor: Dr. Nichaya Suntornpithug
Department stores: organizational culture, customer survey and employee empowerment