Radiological and Environmental Management

Mission Statement

"To establish policies, procedures, and standard practices; audit areas and departments with the goal of reducing or eliminating preventable accidents within the campus community including, but not exclusive to, personal injury or property damage."

Stephanie Steel Phillips

REM Environmental Health & Safety Manager

  • Office: Science Building Room G50
  • Phone: 260-481-4193
  • E-mail:

Jenna Biggins

REM Environmental Health & Safety Specialist

  • Office: Science Building Room G48
  • Phone: 260-481-5744
  • E-mail:

Safety Committee

As safety becomes an increasingly important issue in the workplace, many PFW departments are finding that preventing accidents and creating a safe work environment demands time, energy and resources. To address these demands, some departments are looking for alternatives to simply making safety the responsibility of one person. Departmental safety committees are an excellent approach to tackling multiple safety issues as well as providing a way for management and employees to work together to find solutions for safety issues in the workplace. This concept was recognized by the Facilities Management in April 1998, when the Facilities Management Safety Committee was established.

The Physical Plant Safety Committee enlists the input of departmental representatives from all fractions of the Physical Plant including:

Sonja Mettler, Building Services

Phone: 260-481-6786


Greg Eley, Maintenance

Phone: 260-481-0791


Tad Smith, Grounds

Phone: 260-481-6784


Craig Campbell, Project Management

Phone: 260-481-6806


Ashley Tash, Campus Credentials and Transportation

Phone: 260-481-0678


Frank Rosales, Building Services

Phone: 260-481-6832


Susan Huller, Special Events

Phone: 260-481-0323


Additionally, Stephanie Steel Phillips and Jenna Biggins are members, ex officio. Bringing together experienced members from different areas helps to meet the goal of the committee and spreads the responsibility for safety throughout the department.

Emergency Contacts

  • Emergencies:
    • Dial 911