Diversity and Multicultural Affairs

Jack Ulmer Award


The John P. "Jack" Ulmer Memorial Award is given annually to staff or faculty member who has done exemplary work in the following areas:

  • Individual service to students of color and/or students with disabilities through advising, counseling or mentoring;
  • Service to students of color and/or students with disabilities as an adviser to student organizations or other co-curricular activity;
  • Creativity in making improvements or creating new programs to meet the needs of students of color and/or students with disabilities.

Each recipient receives a plaque designed by sculptor and Emeritus Associate Professor of Fine Arts Hector Garcia when the award is presented.

Jack Ulmer was Dean of Students at IPFW from 1965 to 1988. During his tenure, he was committed to diversity and service to students of color and students with disabilities. He championed the creation of the Office of Multicultural Services, which is known today as the Office of Diversity and Multicultural Affairs.

Past Ulmer Recipients:

2018 - Robin Newman

2017 - Julie Schrader

2016 - Gregory Anderson

2015 -  Alice Jordan-Miles

2014 -  Marietta Frye

2013 - Julie Creek

2012 - Julie Hook and Sandra McMurtrie

2011  - Ashley Simmons

2010 – Deborah Godwin-Starks

2009 – Christina Monsteller-Hall

2008 – Mary Lehto

2007 - Max Montesino

2006 - Barbara Csicsko

2005 - Jeanette Clausen

2004 - Rachelle Darabi

2003 - Linda Fox

2002 - June Townsend

2001 - Frank Borelli

2000 - Donald Smith

1999 - Patrick Ashton

1998 - Al Perez

1997 - David Brennan and Ed Moritz

1996 - Marcia Tapp-Sanders

1995 - Charles Washington

1994 - Phillip Kennell

1993 - David Skelton

1992 - Bettye Poignard

1991 - Louis Cantor

1990 - Larry Life


To nominate a faculty or staff member for the award, please complete the application here.


Have any questions? Contact us!

We are located in Walb Student Union, Room 118

Phone: (260) 481-6608
Fax: (260) 481-6951
E-mail: dmaservices@pfw.edu
Hours: 8 a.m.- 5 p.m., M-F

To nominate a faculty or staff member for the award, please fill out the application here.