Current Students

Three Minute Thesis

Tuesday, February 26th, 2019

5:00pm in the Walb Union Ballroom

Register Today!


The following workshops will be provided throughout the 2018-2019 year to assist participants in creating and practicing their presentations

Think Tank: "Say it in 6"

Cram It In: Condensing Knowledge 


Say What?- Voice Training and Speaking 

Tuesday, January 15th, 5pm-6pm

 Walb Union, Classic Ballroom


Think on Your Feet: Improvisation Class

Saturday, January 26th, 1pm-3pm

Neff 101

Look at This!- PowerPoint Slide Design

3MT Practice and Constructive Criticism


3MT Practice and Fine Tuning


What is it?

Three Minute Thesis (3MT™) is a research communication competition developed by The University of Queensland. At Purdue Fort Wayne both senior undergraduate students and graduate students have three minutes to present a compelling oration on their thesis or research topic and its significance.  Capstone projects are accepted for competition on the Fort Wayne campus.  These projects must include a level of research and scholarship.  3MT™ is not an exercise in trivializing or ‘dumbing-down’ research, but challenges students to consolidate their ideas and research discoveries so they can be presented concisely to a non-specialist audience. 


The first 3MT™ was held at The University of Queensland in 2008 with 160 RHD students competing. Enthusiasm for the 3MT™ concept grew and its adoption by numerous universities led to the development of an international competition. The inaugural Trans-Tasman 3MT™ was held at UQ in 2010 with 33 universities participating. In 2011, 43 universities were represented at the Trans-Tasman 3MT™ that was hosted by The University of Western Australia, and for the first time students from the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, and Hong Kong took part in their own regional events. Purdue Fort Wayne will host our third competition on Feb 26, 2018..  

Why participate?

During your education there is a strong focus on the production of your thesis and/or scholarly work. The ability to communicate the importance of your research project and articulate your findings is very valuable. Three Minute Thesis provides you with the opportunity to:

  • communicate your ideas effectively to the wider community;
  • describe your research findings to a non-specialist audience;
  • crystalize your thoughts about your thesis, research project;
  • increase your profile within the Purdue Fort Wayne research community, staff and wider Indiana community; and
  • network with other graduate and undergraduate students.

video platform video management video solutionsvideo player

Kumud Joshi First place winner for 2016 3MT
For additional Purdue Fort Wayne 3MT videos please click HERE


The graduate students will compete in either the Thesis category or Non-thesis category.  First place winners will be selected for both the Thesis category and the Non-thesis category.  The First Place Thesis winner will advance to the April regional competition in Indianapolis, Indiana at the Midwest Association of Graduate Schools.  Monetary prizes will be awarded for:

  • First Place Thesis
  • First Place Non-Thesis
  • Runner-up (Thesis or Non-Thesis)
  • People’s Choice (Thesis or Non-Thesis)

There will be only one Runner-up and People’s Choice.  Both Thesis and Non-thesis participants will be competing for those awards.  People’s Choice Award winners may or may not be First Place or Runner-up Award recipients.  

Undergraduate students will compete among undergraduate students and will compete for

  • First Place: Research Project
  • Runner-up: Research Project
  • People’s Choice: Research Project

People’s Choice Award winners may or may not be First Place or Runner-up Award recipients.  
To earn runner-up or people's choice, there must be at least 5 participants 

Congratulations to the 2017 (3MTTM) Representative!

Andrea Myers, Biology Thesis, Characterizing Our Forests

Andrea Myers 2017 IPFW Representative. Click here to watch Andrea's presentation.

Kumud Joshi, 2016 1st Place Thesis Winner. Click here to watch Joshi's presentation.


Shannon Kuznar, 2016 2nd Place Thesis Winner. Click here to watch Kuznar's presentation.


Jinlong Han, 2016 2nd Place Thesis Winner. Click here to watch Han's presentation.


Julie Stills, 2016 1st Place Non-Thesis Winner and People's Choice Winner. Click here to watch Still's presentation.


Watch Patrick Selig's presentation here.

Watch Yaya Mahamat's presentation here.

Watch Greg Whelan's presentation here.

Three Minute Thesis Handbook