College of Arts and Sciences

Physics Research

One of the most important qualities of the Purdue Fort Wayne Department of Physics is the dedication to having our students actively involved in our research.  Each Faculty member maintains their own research program.  In future months, we will expand the descriptions of each faculty member's research program. 

Professor Timothy T. Grove's research is in Spectrographs and Optical Physics as well as 3-D printing.  He is also investigating methods of improving student learning of physics.  Click here to watch his presentation.  If interested please contact him via email grovet@pfw.edu

Dr. Merrell Johnson's research is in Scanning Probe Microscopy. Click here to watch his presentation.  If interested please contact him via email johnsonm@pfw.edu 

Professor David P. Maloney's research is in Physics Education.  Currently conducting three investigations.  Click here to watch his presentation.  If interested please contact him via email maloney@pfw.edu

Professor Mark F. Masters' research is many different areas, examples are: Single Photon/Quantum Optics; Spectroscopy of Sodium Potassium Molecules; Material Science; Acoustics, Laser Physics; Applied Physics; and methods of improving student learning of physics.  Click here to watch his presentation.  If interested please contact him via email masters@pfw.edu

Dr. Sally Mikhail's research is in the study of pattern formation in fluids, including Rayleigh-Be'nard convection and Taylor-Couette flow.  If interested please contact her via email mikhails@pfw.edu

Dr. Jacob Millspaw's is investigating CT Scan - optical X-Rays; and methods of improving student learning of physics.  Click here to watch his presentation.  If interested please contact him via email millspaj@pfw.edu

Professor Gang Wang's research is in optical tweezers and optical trapping of small particles. The presentation is titled "Optical Manipulation"   Click here to watch his presentation.  If interested please contact him via email wangg@pfw.edu

Dr. Eugenio Ursino's research is in models, predictions, and observations for a not so simple problem in astrophysics.  The presentation is titled "The Diffuse X-Ray Background"  Click here to watch his presentation.  If interested please contact him via email ursinoe@pfw.edu

PFW Physics on Facebook Icon:Facebook PFW Physics on Twitter Twitter link for IPFW Physics PFW Physics on Google+ Google Plus Icon