Faculty & Staff


David A. Dilts, Ph.D.


David Dilts

Office: Neff Hall 340D
Office Phone: 260-481-6486
Office Fax: 260-481-6879
E-mail: dilts@pfw.edu
Year Beginning at IPFW: 1987





Dr. Dilts received his Ph.D. in Economics from Indiana University in 1978.

Teaching Interests

Dr. Dilts's teaching interests includes industrial dispute resolution, labor relations, labor law, economic education, and general economics.

Research Interests

Dr. Dilts's research is in the areas of arbitration of labor disputes, international issues in labor relations, labor law, collective bargaining, and labor markets.

Selected Research Published In

  • Management Science
  • The Arbitration Journal
  • Journal of Collective Negotiations in the Public Sector
  • Journal of Economic Education

Selected Books Published (authored or co-authored)

  • Labor Relations (Macmillan 1983)
  • Assessing What Professors Do: An Introduction to Academic Performance Appraisal In Higher Education (Greenwood Press, 1994)
  • Cases In Collective Bargaining and Industrial Relations: A Decisional Approach (McGraw-Hill, tenth edition in 2003)

Highlights of Community Service

Dr.  Dilts is the executive editor of the Journal of Collective Negotiations in the Public Sector. He was appointed the journal's executive editor in 2003 and is only the third person to have ever served as executive editor of the Journal.

Dr. Dilts joined the Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne faculty in 1987 after serving two years at Ball State University and seven years at Kansas State University.

Dr. Dilts has been recognized with an award for teaching by the Graduate Business Council, EMBAT 2004, for research by Indiana-Purdue University - Fort Wayne with the 2004 Outstanding Research Award, and the Irwin Distinguished Paper Award in 1992 by the Midwest Society for Human Resources and Industrial Relations. Dr. Dilts has also been included in several editions of Who's Who Among America's Teachers after having been nominated by students at IPFW.

Dr. Dilts is a member of Omicron Delta Epsilon, Delta Sigma Pi, and Phi Kappa Phi.

Links to Other Information